Accepted name: linoleate 13S-lipoxygenase
Reaction: (1) linoleate + O2 = (9Z,11E,13S)-13-hydroperoxyoctadeca-9,11-dienoate
(2) α-linolenate + O2 = (9Z,11E,13S,15Z)-13-hydroperoxyoctadeca-9,11,15-trienoate
Glossary: linoleate = (9Z,12Z)-octadeca-9,12-dienoate
α-linolenate = (9Z,12Z,15Z)-octadeca-9,12,15-trienoate
Other name(s): 13-lipoxidase; carotene oxidase; 13-lipoperoxidase; fat oxidase; 13-lipoxydase; lionoleate:O2 13-oxidoreductase
Systematic name: linoleate:oxygen 13-oxidoreductase
Comments: Contains nonheme iron. A common plant lipoxygenase that oxidizes linoleate and α-linolenate, the two most common polyunsaturated fatty acids in plants, by inserting molecular oxygen at the C-13 position with (S)-configuration. This enzyme produces precursors for several important compounds, including the plant hormone jasmonic acid. EC, linoleate 9S-lipoxygenase, catalyses a similar reaction at the second available position of these fatty acids.
1.  Christopher, J., Pistorius, E. and Axelrod, B. Isolation of an enzyme of soybean lipoxidase. Biochim. Biophys. Acta 198 (1970) 12–19. [PMID: 5461103]
2.  Theorell, H., Holman, R.T. and Åkesson, Å. Crystalline lipoxidase. Acta Chem. Scand. 1 (1947) 571–576. [PMID: 18907700]
3.  Zimmerman, D.C. Specificity of flaxseed lipoxidase. Lipids 5 (1970) 392–397. [PMID: 5447012]
4.  Royo, J., Vancanneyt, G., Perez, A.G., Sanz, C., Stormann, K., Rosahl, S. and Sanchez-Serrano, J.J. Characterization of three potato lipoxygenases with distinct enzymatic activities and different organ-specific and wound-regulated expression patterns. J. Biol. Chem. 271 (1996) 21012–21019. [PMID: 8702864]
5.  Bachmann, A., Hause, B., Maucher, H., Garbe, E., Voros, K., Weichert, H., Wasternack, C. and Feussner, I. Jasmonate-induced lipid peroxidation in barley leaves initiated by distinct 13-LOX forms of chloroplasts. Biol. Chem. 383 (2002) 1645–1657. [PMID: 12452441]
[EC created 1961 as EC, transferred 1965 to EC, transferred 1972 to EC, modified 2011, modified 2012]

Data © 2001–2020 IUBMB
Web site © 2005–2020 Andrew McDonald