The Enzyme Database

Your query returned 1 entry.    printer_iconPrintable version

Accepted name: [amino group carrier protein]-lysine hydrolase
Reaction: [amino group carrier protein]-C-terminal-γ-(L-lysyl)-L-glutamate + H2O = [amino group carrier protein]-C-terminal-L-glutamate + L-lysine
Other name(s): lysK (gene name)
Systematic name: [amino group carrier protein]-C-terminal-γ-L-lysyl-L-glutamate amidohydrolase
Comments: The enzyme participates in an L-lysine biosynthetic pathway in certain species of archaea and bacteria. In some organisms the enzyme also catalyses the activity of EC, [amino group carrier protein]-ornithine hydrolase.
Links to other databases: BRENDA, EXPASY, KEGG, MetaCyc, PDB
1.  Horie, A., Tomita, T., Saiki, A., Kono, H., Taka, H., Mineki, R., Fujimura, T., Nishiyama, C., Kuzuyama, T. and Nishiyama, M. Discovery of proteinaceous N-modification in lysine biosynthesis of Thermus thermophilus. Nat. Chem. Biol. 5 (2009) 673–679. [DOI] [PMID: 19620981]
2.  Ouchi, T., Tomita, T., Horie, A., Yoshida, A., Takahashi, K., Nishida, H., Lassak, K., Taka, H., Mineki, R., Fujimura, T., Kosono, S., Nishiyama, C., Masui, R., Kuramitsu, S., Albers, S.V., Kuzuyama, T. and Nishiyama, M. Lysine and arginine biosyntheses mediated by a common carrier protein in Sulfolobus. Nat. Chem. Biol. 9 (2013) 277–283. [DOI] [PMID: 23434852]
3.  Yoshida, A., Tomita, T., Atomi, H., Kuzuyama, T. and Nishiyama, M. Lysine biosynthesis of Thermococcus kodakarensis with the capacity to function as an ornithine biosynthetic system. J. Biol. Chem. 291 (2016) 21630–21643. [DOI] [PMID: 27566549]
4.  Fujita, S., Cho, S.H., Yoshida, A., Hasebe, F., Tomita, T., Kuzuyama, T. and Nishiyama, M. Crystal structure of LysK, an enzyme catalyzing the last step of lysine biosynthesis in Thermus thermophilus, in complex with lysine: Insight into the mechanism for recognition of the amino-group carrier protein, LysW. Biochem. Biophys. Res. Commun. 491 (2017) 409–415. [DOI] [PMID: 28720495]
[EC created 2019]

Data © 2001–2024 IUBMB
Web site © 2005–2024 Andrew McDonald