The Enzyme Database

Your query returned 1 entry.    printer_iconPrintable version

Accepted name: nicotinate phosphoribosyltransferase
Reaction: nicotinate + 5-phospho-α-D-ribose 1-diphosphate + ATP + H2O = β-nicotinate D-ribonucleotide + diphosphate + ADP + phosphate
For diagram of NAD+ biosynthesis, click here
Other name(s): niacin ribonucleotidase; nicotinic acid mononucleotide glycohydrolase; nicotinic acid mononucleotide pyrophosphorylase; nicotinic acid phosphoribosyltransferase; nicotinate-nucleotide:diphosphate phospho-α-D-ribosyltransferase
Systematic name: 5-phospho-α-D-ribose 1-diphosphate:nicotinate ligase (ADP, diphosphate-forming)
Comments: The enzyme, which is involved in pyridine nucleotide recycling, can form β-nicotinate D-ribonucleotide and diphosphate from nicotinate and 5-phospho-α-D-ribose 1-diphosphate (PRPP) in the absence of ATP. However, when ATP is available the enzyme is phosphorylated resulting in a much lower Km for nicotinate. The phospho-enzyme is hydrolysed during the transferase reaction, regenerating the low affinity form. The presence of ATP shifts the products/substrates equilibrium from 0.67 to 1100 [4].
Links to other databases: BRENDA, EXPASY, KEGG, MetaCyc, PDB, CAS registry number: 9030-26-6
1.  Imsande, J. Pathway of diphosphopyridine nucleotide biosynthesis in Escherichia coli. J. Biol. Chem. 236 (1961) 1494–1497. [PMID: 13717628]
2.  Imsande, J. and Handler, P. Biosynthesis of diphosphopyridine nucleotide. III. Nicotinic acid mononucleotide pyrophosphorylase. J. Biol. Chem. 236 (1961) 525–530. [PMID: 13717627]
3.  Kosaka, A., Spivey, H.O. and Gholson, R.K. Nicotinate phosphoribosyltransferase of yeast. Purification and properties. J. Biol. Chem. 246 (1971) 3277–3283. [PMID: 4324895]
4.  Vinitsky, A. and Grubmeyer, C. A new paradigm for biochemical energy coupling. Salmonella typhimurium nicotinate phosphoribosyltransferase. J. Biol. Chem. 268 (1993) 26004–26010. [PMID: 7503993]
[EC created 1961 as EC, transferred 2013 to EC]

Data © 2001–2024 IUBMB
Web site © 2005–2024 Andrew McDonald