The Enzyme Database

Your query returned 1 entry.    printer_iconPrintable version

Accepted name: hydroperoxy icosatetraenoate isomerase
Reaction: a hydroperoxyicosatetraenoate = a hydroxyepoxyicosatrienoate
Glossary: (12R)-HPETE = (5Z,8Z,10E,12R,14Z)-12-hydroperoxyicosa-5,8,10,14-tetraenoate
(8S)-HPETE = (5Z,8S,9E,11Z,14Z)-8-hydroperoxyicosa-5,9,11,14-tetraenoate
Other name(s): epidermal lipoxygenase-3 (ambiguous); eLOX3 (ambiguous)
Systematic name: hydroperoxyicosatetraenoate hydroxymutase
Comments: Binds Fe2+. The enzyme from mammals accepts a range of hydroperoxyicosatetraenoates producing one or several different hydroxyepoxyicosatrienoates. The human enzyme has highest activity with (12R)-HPETE producing (5Z,8R,9E,11R,12R,14Z)-8-hydroxy-11,12-epoxyicosa-5,9,14-trienoate, followed by (12S)-HPETE producing (5Z,8Z,10R,11S,12S,14Z)-10-hydroxy-11,12-epoxyicosa-5,8,14-trienoate and (5Z,8R,9E,11S,12S,14Z)-8-hydroxy-11,12-epoxyicosa-5,9,14-trienoate [1]. The mouse enzyme has highest activity with (8S)-HPETE, producing (5Z,8S,9S,10R,11Z,14Z)-10-hydroxy-8,9-epoxyicosa-5,11,14-trienoate [2]. The enzymes also have the activity of EC, hydroperoxy icosatetraenoate dehydratase.
Links to other databases: BRENDA, EXPASY, KEGG, MetaCyc
1.  Yu, Z., Schneider, C., Boeglin, W.E., Marnett, L.J. and Brash, A.R. The lipoxygenase gene ALOXE3 implicated in skin differentiation encodes a hydroperoxide isomerase. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 100 (2003) 9162–9167. [DOI] [PMID: 12881489]
2.  Yu, Z., Schneider, C., Boeglin, W.E. and Brash, A.R. Human and mouse eLOX3 have distinct substrate specificities: implications for their linkage with lipoxygenases in skin. Arch. Biochem. Biophys. 455 (2006) 188–196. [DOI] [PMID: 17045234]
3.  Zheng, Y. and Brash, A.R. Dioxygenase activity of epidermal lipoxygenase-3 unveiled: typical and atypical features of its catalytic activity with natural and synthetic polyunsaturated fatty acids. J. Biol. Chem. 285 (2010) 39866–39875. [DOI] [PMID: 20921226]
[EC created 2014]

Data © 2001–2020 IUBMB
Web site © 2005–2020 Andrew McDonald